J-Day 2013 Winners

Written by Chris Wood   
Saturday, 02 November 2013 08:51

We held our annual convention, J-Day, on Sunday 27th October 2013 with 100 young magicians in attendance.  Angelo Carbone and Steve Evans lectured and the celebrity guest was Marvin Berglas of Marvin’s Magic.  What a great day it was!  As always, the two competitions were keenly fought.  For the Mark Leveridge Cup for close-up, in third place was Roman Armstrong, in second Callum McClure and the winner was Joe Oyelade.  For the Wayne Fox Magic Home Counties Trophy for stage, in third place Jay Borthwick, second was Fletcher Ransberry and the winner was William Tibballs.  William also won the Pete McCahon Originality Trophy and Roman also won the Kaymar Komedy Kup.  The YMC Member of the Year was announced as Elizabeth Rogan.  The day finished with a gala show featuring L’Homme Magique, David Weeks, Marvin Berglas and Young & Strange.  The photographs show William and Joe receiving their awards from President Jack Delvin.


Dynamo is back!

Written by Chris Wood   
Wednesday, 03 July 2013 17:16

Dynamo levitates The media has been full of how Dynamo levitated on the side of a London bus recently... 

No need to join in speculation about how the stunt was achieved, you simply have to admire Dynamo and his team for the brilliant piece of publicity put together to promote his new series which starts on Watch at 9pm on July 11th. Everytime you see a poster of Dynamo on a London bus you will be reminded of the stunt. Clever, clever marketing and we all are looking forward to the new show! Bravo.







The Magic Circle Stage Magician of The Year

Written by Chris Wood   
Wednesday, 01 May 2013 15:52

The winner of The Magic Circle Stage Magician of the Year 2013 is........ Piff the Magic Dragon (aka John van der Put MIMC). He walks away with the £1000 prize and the prestigious title. Runner-up was former YMC Member James More AIMC and in third place was Oliver Tabor AIMC. Congratulations to all three!


Young Spellbinders

Written by Chris Wood   
Wednesday, 24 April 2013 16:22

"Walking into the Magic Circle HQ in London when I first became a member of the junior arm four years ago was one of those "wow" moments in my life"

The Daily Express meet three of Britain's youthful spellbinders... read the full article


J-Day 2011 Guests and Winners

Written by Administrator   
Friday, 28 October 2011 18:28

YoungMagiciansClubKevin Doig AIMC. Chairman of The Young Magicians Club reports:

The Young Magicians Club, a Youth Initiative of The Magic Circle, held J-Day, their annual one day convention, on Sunday 23rd October 2011 at The Magic Circle’s headquarters at the Centre for the Magic Arts.
An event packed day featured lectures from Eric Jones from U.S.A. and Michael Vincent MIMC both of whom also featured in the evening gala show along with Elemental and Piff The Magic Dragon.
Very special guest on the day was Dynamo, who gave an inspiring talk, mixed and mingled with the Members and judged the stage competition alongside Alan Shaxon and Jay Gatling.
Award winners in the competitions were:
Close up competition (Mark Leveridge Cup)
Fletcher Ransberry
2nd place: Harry De Cruz
3rd place: Jack Tapperell
Stage competition (1st Home Counties Trophy)
James Wilson
2nd place: Joe Strickland
Special Awards:
Joe Strickland (Pete McCahon Originality Prize)
Fletcher Ransberry (Kaymar Komedy Cup)
Harry De Cruz (YMC Member of the Year)
The Young Magicians Club is open to young magicians aged from 10 to 18. Further information can be obtained from This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or


photo by Mandy Davis


Page 3 of 3

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 Next > End >>